# ORGANIZATIONAL SESSION **COUNTY BOARD MEETING** TUESDAY, APRIL 20, 2004

County Clerk Sue Ertmer called the meeting to order at 5:00 P.M. in the Supervisors' Room, Fourth Floor, Courthouse, Oshkosh, Wisconsin,

The meeting was opened with the Pledge of Allegiance and an Invocation by Supervisor Rankin.

Present: Weber, Barker, Griesbach, Hotynski, Scoville, Maehl, Koziczkowski, Klitzke, Widener, Lauson, Albrecht, Pech, Thompson, Steineke, Lennon, Machotka, Sundquist, Wingren, Jacobson, Norton, Warnke, Robl, Harris, Kline, Lorenz, Kramer, Schaidler, Finch, Farrey, Sievert, Arne, Diakoff, Brennand, Egan, Rankin, Rengstorf and O'Brien. Excused: Nielsen.

County Executive Van De Hey addressed the Board and congratulated them on their election. Judge Barbara Key and Judge Scott Woldt each administered the oath of office to one half of the Board.

## **PUBLIC HEARING**

No one addressed the Board.

### **ELECTION OF COUNTY BOARD CHAIRMAN**

Motion by Supervisor Egan and seconded to nominate Supervisor David Albrecht as Chairman.

Motion by Supervisor Lauson and seconded to nominate Supervisor Patrick O'Brien for Chairman.

Motion by Supervisor Schaidler and seconded to nominate Supervisor Joseph Maehl for Chairman.

After asking for the third time if there were any more nominations for Chairman, the nominations were closed.

Paper ballots were distributed to the Board. After voting, the Supervisors' ballots were collected and counted.

The results of the voting were: Supervisor Albrecht – 18; Supervisor O'Brien – 11; Supervisor Maehl – 8.

According to County Board Rule 3.3, because none of the nominees received a majority of the votes of those members present, another ballot with Supervisors Albrecht's and O'Brien's names was distributed to the Board. The results of the voting were: Supervisor Albrecht – 24 and Supervisor O'Brien – 13.

Supervisor Albrecht was then seated as County Board Chairman.

Chairman Albrecht thanked the Board for electing him as their Chairman.

### **ELECTION OF COUNTY BOARD VICE CHAIRMAN**

Chairman Albrecht called for nominations for Vice Chairman.

Motion by Supervisor Diakoff and seconded to nominate Supervisor Patrick Brennand as Vice Chairman.

Motion by Supervisor Thompson and seconded to nominate Supervisor John Schaidler as Vice Chairman.

Motion by Supervisor Lauson and seconded to nominate Supervisor Patrick O'Brien for Vice Chairman. Supervisor O'Brien declined the nomination for Vice Chairman.

After asking for the third time if there were any more nominations for Vice Chairman, the nominations were closed. Paper ballots were distributed to the Board. After voting, the Supervisors' ballots were collected and counted.

The final results were: Supervisor Brennand – 18; Supervisor Schaidler - 19. Supervisor Schaidler was seated as Vice Chairman.

Vice Chairman Schaidler thanked the Board for electing him as their Vice Chairman.

#### **REPORTS, RESOLUTIONS & ORDINANCES**

RESOLUTION NO. 1-42004: Accept the Winnebago County Board Rules for the April 2004-2006 Session

> Submitted by: HARVEY RENGSTORF, DIST. #37 COUNTY BOARD SUPERVISOR

Motion by Supervisor Rengstorf and seconded to adopt. Supervisor Rengstorf stated that the Judiciary & Public Safety Committee's vote on these rules was 5-0.

Motion by Supervisor Pech and seconded to amend this resolution by removing Sec. 4.5 from the Winnebago

County Board Rules. Ayes: 9 – Hotynski, Koziczkowski, Klitzke, Lauson, Pech, Wingren, Robl, Kline and Lorenz. Nays: 27. Abstain: 1 - Lennon. Excused: 1 – Nielsen. LOST.

Supervisor Diakoff noted that unlike all the other Standing Committees, the Scholarship Committee does not have a description included in Sec. 24 of the Winnebago County Board Rules. It was decided that the Chairman of the Scholarship Committee would work with the Corporation Counsel to write a description of the committee and bring a resolution to the Board to amend the rules to include said description.

Motion by Supervisor Pech and seconded to amend Sec. 20.4 of the Winnebago County Board Rules by adding, "in writing" after "approved". Ayes: 12 – Weber, Pech, Lennon, Machotka, Wingren, Jacobson, Warnke, Robl, Harris, Kline, Lorenz and Sievert. Nays: 25. Excused: 1 – Nielsen. LOST

Vote on Resolution as presented: Ayes: 36. Nays: 0. Abstain: 1 – Machotka. Excused: 1 – Nielsen. CARRIED.

Motion by Supervisor Rengstorf and seconded to approve the amendment to Sec. 3.3 of the Winnebago County Board Rules that would add: Election of the Chair and Vice-Chair shall be by a majority vote of those members present. Should no supervisor gain a majority vote of those members present for either position, the lowest vote-getter shall be deleted from each subsequent ballot until only two candidates for the position remain on the ballot. CARRIED BY VOICE VOTE.

#### APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES

Chairman Albrecht appointed Supervisors Egan, Schaidler, Rengstorf and Robl to serve with him on the Committee on Committees. They will meet on Thursday, April 22 at 1:00 p.m. in the Zoning Department Conference Room.

Motion by Supervisor Robl and seconded to adjourn until 6:00 p.m. on Tuesday, April 27. CARRIED BY VOICE VOTE.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:17 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Susan T. Ertmer Winnebago County Clerk

State of Wisconsin) County of Winnebago) ss

I, Susan T. Ertmer, do hereby certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of the Journal of the Winnebago County Board of Supervisors for their regular meeting held April 20, 2004.

Susan T. Ertmer Winnebago County Clerk